Showing That Job Market Who’s Boss

As is my morning ritual, I was drinking coffee and getting up to date with things in the GTA courtesy of the Toronto Star. I made my way over to the business section, where I came across an article that seemed to be uncomfortably close to my present reality. The article’s title, ‘Boomers’ kids in job squeeze until 2015,’ almost scared the crap out of me. Boomers’ kids? That’s me! 2015? I can’t wait that long!

The article crept closer and closer to home as one of the girls interviewed for the piece had a similar educational background as myself, bachelor’s degree and a college diploma in Corporate Communications. Though she had a good base to enter the industry, she was having a hard time finding a position. As many of us know, entry level positions are not always ‘entry-level’. Ah, the great paradox our generation faces- eligible for an entry level position but must have 2+ years of experience. What’s a kid to do in times like these?

After reading this article, I felt the need to re-asses my current situation and analyze the crap out of it. I have a degree, I’m going back to school, I have work experience both domestic and international with management roles, and I have volunteer experience. In my mind, I think I have a good starting-base and I know that both my grandma’s think I am fantastic. That counts, right? Unfortunately, Granny’s glowing reference won’t get me a job. Sigh.

My grandma would totally hire me

I’m not going to let this deter me. In this day and age, it’s not about what you know, but who.  It’s a new year, and though we are amid gloomy predictions for 2012, I’m going to remain optimistic. I know I’ve got a good head on my shoulder and a clear plan for what I want to achieve both this year and beyond. Sometimes, things may not always go my way but that’s just all part of the learning process.

Who knows what may (or may not) happen this year. According to the Mayan calendar, the apocalypse will hit December 2012. Perfect- just in time for me to finish my co-op. Even if the world were to end tomorrow, I want to be able to say to myself, “You done good, kid”.

2015 is a long ways away, but I’m not living for that. I’m just going to make the most of every opportunity I have now. School will be starting next week and it’ll be a new chapter in my life that I am ready for.

Bring it!

Leave a Reply

