Let’s Keep Success Simple

Has success taken on a new meaning these days? I think I want to keep it simple.

In our parents day and age, being successful meant getting married, buying a house and starting a family. You didn’t take time off from school to ‘find yourself’ or just travel the world for fun. These things all apply to today’s standard ideas of success, but I think theres a lot more too it now.

Now, should there be a direct correlation between success and having your life figured out? I’m still hazy on that part. I like to think I have a pretty clear idea of what I want to do with my life, and I guess I have accomplished some great things. In a nutshell, one could say I’ve been successful thus far. That person, of course, being myself. I’m giving myself a pat on the back right now.

The options out there are endless for us. Looking at the things my friends have accomplished and done with their lives, I would consider all of them successful. I can’t compare or categorize their accomplishments, because they have all followed their own personal goals and passions. This is the way it should be. Each person out their is in charge of their own dreams, and no one else’s ambitions should be altering that.

Whether it’s travelling, working abroad, a new endeavour or program, a promotion or maybe you just made someone really happy- you can consider yourself successful. Looking at the big picture can often seem scary and deterring. The future will be the today that we embrace every second of. If we just take the small little accomplishments in life and cherish them, then I think they will eventually add up to something you can feel damn proud of.

πŸ™‚

One thought on “Let’s Keep Success Simple

Leave a Reply

