Getting to the basics…

Howdy,

Something I wanted to start off with was inspired by a dear friend of mine. After a chat over fancy drinks (because we’re fancy), she told me about how she was learning detailed usage of all outlook programs in her post-graduate program. She is planning on going into marketing, and expert knowledge of these programs is a must in not just this industry but pretty much all of them!

This got me thinking about how much I myself know about Microsoft office. Truth is, I should know more. Well, that’s something I’ll fix right there. Easier said then done because I’m not what anyone would call ‘tech savvy’. Ah well, a girl’s gotta do what a girls gotta do! Point of the matter is that they are important skills. Yes, they may be something that most people put on their resume when looking for work, but it comes down to making sure you’re confident with the program once you’ve nailed that position.

Check out Microsoft’s training videos and articles to get an introduction to these programs, or learn a few new things about them. It’s free so you can’t go wrong!

A few things I found that were pretty cool and fairly inspiring. This video here is a small example of the amazing things we can do with powerpoint so that we can wow our employers! It really stresses the main goals your powerpoint should have and what it should achieve.

You can find great videos for quickly learning the basics or more detailed steps in the office programs on Youtube, my go-to tool to learn anything.

Happy learning!

One thought on “Getting to the basics…

  1. Microsoft Office 2010 came with changes that took me some time to catch up on, especially Powerpoint. Outlook is a good tool, but that’s all it is: a tool. As long as you still got those communication skills you can pick stuff up on the go. The one thing I need more studying in is Sharepoint, barf!

Leave a Reply

