A Little Introduction…

Hey Y’all,

In Ginza, Tokyo

My name’s Laura and I’ll start off with some basics about myself. I graduated from University of Toronto with an Honors Bachelor of Arts degree and took off to work in Korea for a year and a half after that to make some money and explore the world. There may be a lot of asian references in here which are due to my integration into their society, ^^V! I’m back into the swing of things now and will be starting my post-graduate certificate program in January 2012. That being said, let me explain why I started doing this…

First of all, I wouldn’t call myself an avid blogger. I’ve done little things just for fun on the side, and for a part-time recrutiing job. I’ve never considered myself an overly interesting person so I didn’t see the point in talking about my fairly normal life. I mean, I hate it when people write about nothing. That’s what a Facebook status is for, man!

Secondly, I’ve made it a morning ritual to drink my coffee and read the Toronto Star to catch up on everything thats going on in the GTA and beyond. Fun Fact: There’s not a whole lot of positive changes or potential developments going on in Canada, especially in Ontario. When I read these articles, I can’t help but think about how potentially screwed I may be when school finishes at the end of 2012. Will the economic apocalypse that the media and institutions are claiming will happen destroy my chances of getting a job?

So while considering my possible future unemployment, I realized that I had something to write about. I, like so many others out there, am trying to finish up my schooling that will hopefully enable me to land a sweet job. Well, the way it’s done has changed drastically in the past couple years. It’s a whole new ball game out there for us young adults, and we have to get ready for it!

I’ll be writing about the challenges, opportunities, ideas  and the ridiculous things that cross my path on the way into the working world.

-L

Leave a Reply

